Living For Tomorrow

I suppose I’ve spent just about as much time thinking about “end-times” as the next person. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing, really. I’m sure it’s a very natural thing to wonder about and contemplate what the future holds for us, both collectively and personally.

As a Christian, I’ve studied this a fair amount and there is a lot of compelling and convincing evidence that points to the belief that “end-times” are indeed upon us. I’m not one to refute anyone’s research in this nor am I one to scoff at biblical prophesy and how numerous recent events bear such uncanny correlations. Like many other Christians, I most certainly do believe that the end will come someday, and (by the look of things) probably fairly soon.

The question of when this will happen has been on people’s minds since His departure. I believe that Jesus knew we would be intrigued and curious about “when” He would return, and that while He made it clear we should not be obsessed with this, He also told us to be watchful and ready.

“But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father alone.”   Matthew 24:36

“Therefore be on the alert, for you do not know which day your Lord is coming. But be sure of this, that if the head of the house had known at what time of the night the thief was coming, he would have been on the alert and would not have allowed his house to be broken into. For this reason you also must be ready; for the Son of Man is coming at an hour when you do not think He will.”   Matthew 24:42-44

Our challenge as Christians is to be ready for His return EVERY day. Therefore, since we don’t know when the “end-times” will be upon us, whether it happens to us individually or as a group, it makes much more sense for us to remain at the ready. But what constitutes being “ready”?

If I understand Christ correctly (re: Matthew 24:42-44 above), He is trying to tell me that I stand to lose that which is most important to me if I am not ready. So, this prompts me to ask myself, what is it that is most important to me? Here’s what is most important to me –

  • My relationship with God – have I pleased Him with my life; am I at peace with Him?
  • My relationship with others – am I a reflection of Christ to them?
  • Have I left anything undone – what good could I have done that I didn’t accomplish, or even attempt?

I know that I will never be completely ready. I firmly believe that the only human to ever trod this earth without making mistakes was Christ, so only He was truly ready. Still, making the effort to not fall short is a step toward readiness, and reconciling with God is the first and most important part of being ready.

One step at a time, one day at a time, each in an effort toward living for tomorrow. To me, this is the only way toward being truly ready for that day.


Precisely because we cannot predict the moment, we must be ready at all moments.C.S. Lewis

If you board the wrong train, it is no use running along the corridor in the other direction. – Dietrich Bonhoeffer


This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

